Last year marked 50 years since the establishment of the School of Environmental Design, which became the College of Environment and Design in 2001.  As part of the year-long celebration, CED faculty, staff, and alumni honored the most amazing individuals and groups who have shaped the college throughout its history. 


From the first landscape architecture classes in 1928 to our beginnings as a college in 1969, the CED has been shaped by and has produced many trailblazers and visionaries. Through their scholarship, teaching, service, and professional practice, these individuals have demonstrated unwavering commitments to advancing the principles of design, planning, and preservation. 


A committee of CED faculty, staff, and alumni undertook the difficult task of narrowing down the list of about 100 nominees to the 50 finalists: the Owens 50, named after CED’s founding Dean, Hubert Owens. These talented individuals brought unparalleled passion, expertise, and commitment to our professions, the college, and the betterment of the world at large. Through their vision and hard work, they shaped our programs and enhanced the CED’s ability to serve students and enrich lives. 


In addition to the 50 individuals, we also honor six institutions that have had an indelible impact on the CED. They range from alumni organizations to highly-regarded professional allies to generous friends and donors.


The winners have been invited to a ceremony, tentatively scheduled for March 2021, which will allow them to revisit with their colleagues, classmates, and campus. We could not be more proud of our Owens 50.


Please join us in congratulating them!


 The Owens 50

Click below to read about each honoree


headshot of dexter adams
headshot of Donna Adamson
headshot charles aguar
headshot of mary anne akers
headshot doug allen
headshot of vince belafiore


headshot of brooks breeden
headshot of Pratt Cassity
headshot ed castro
headshot of Blakeslee Chase
headshot Jim Cothran
headshot of gregg coyle


headshot of Jack Crowley
headshot of Dorinda Dallmeyer
headshot of Vladimir Djurovic
headshot of Jean Edwards
headshot of Bruce Ferguson
headshot of Ian Firth


headshot of Dan Franklin
headshot of Charley Godfrey
headshot of Kona Gray
headshot of Bob Grese
headshot Edah Grover
headshot of Bob Hill


headshot of Catherine Howett
headshot of Bob Hughes
headshot of Dale Jaeger
headshot of Lawrie Jordan
headshot of Philip Juras
headshot of Deanna Kent


headshot of Margeurite Koepke
headshot of John Linley
headshot of Bill Mann
headshot of Randy Marshall
headshot Clay Mooney
headshot of Roger Moore


headshot of Darrel Morrison
headshot of Dan Nadenicek
headshot of Bob Nicholls
headshot of Maureen O'Brien
headshot HB Owens
headshot of Karen Phillips


headshot of Bruce Rado
headshot of Allen Stovall
headshot of Fumiaki Takano
headshot of John Waters
headshot Neal Weatherly
headshot of Scott Weinberg


headshot of Richard Westmacott
headshot of Btooks Wigginton





logo of CED Alumni Association
logo of GA ASLA
logo of Georgia Power
GTC Logo
Logo of PGC
logo of Wormsloe Foundation